HomeAbout UsAreas of PracticeCourtsPenaltiesWhat to Expect
Contact UsHow to Choose a LawyerTraffic Offenses

Patrick M. Lewis         Criminal Defense Lawyer
 Call us at: 913-558-3961
Possible Penalties for Common Kansas Convictions
Kansas state penalties for misdemeanors:

Class A misdemeanor:  Conviction of a class A misdemeanor in Kansas is punishible by up to one year in the county jail or a fine of up to $2,500.00
                                      or both.  A judge can place a person convicted of a class A misdemeanor on probation for a period of up to two years.

Class B misdemeanor: Conviction of a class B misdemeanor in Kansas is punishible by up to six months in the county jail or a fine of up to $1,000.00
                                       or both. A judge can place a person convicted of a class B misdemeanor on probation for a period of up to two years.

Class C misdemeanor: Conviction of a class C misdemeanor in Kansas is punishible by up to thirty days in the county jail or a fine of up to $500.00
                                     or both. A judge can place a person convicted of a class C misdemeanor on probation for a period of up to two years.

Common Kansas Misdemeanors:

The most commonly charged class A misdemeanors include possession of marijuana, possession of paraphernalia, possession of mushrooms,
                                    second time DUI, second time domestic battery and theft.

The most commonly charged class B misdemeanors include first time DUI, first time domestic battery, simple battery, and criminal damage.

The most commonly charged class C misdemeanors include disorderly conduct and disturbing the peace.